cookies & cosmetics: Citrus Butter Cookies and the shu:palette

image

I’ve been in a neutral frame of mind make-up wise recently, and while part of that is due to what I have access to (I’m not currently at my house with my stash) a lot of it is related to relative ease – I don’t have to think as hard about neutral combinations (well generally speaking). I have a lot of neutral palettes but my go-to has been Shu Uemura’s shu:palette which was released last year as part of a wave of neutral mega-palettes from several brands – but the shu:palette was unique in that it was designed for Asian skintones!

The shu:palette features 16 full-size eyeshadows with matte and satin finishes. I find the palette mostly cool-toned, and I love the multiple options for lid and crease shades – it’s one of the few palettes I’ve used every shade in multiple times!

The palette was limited edition but I believe all the shades are part of the permanent line.

I’d definitely go to your local Shu counter/Sephora and test out the shadows – different finishes have different textures but I really like the satin and metallic finishes best.

—-

In other news I finally bought a Microplane zester in hot pink after months of waffling about needing one and then not being able to find it and the first recipe I tested it on were the Citrus Butter Cookies from the Pioneer Woman. Except that I modified the recipe (as always) based on what I had out on my counter already (I tend to bake in large batches) and my own experimentation. I actually zested all the fruit and then froze the zest because I had forgotten to soften my butter, and I’m pleased to say that the zest retained its texture, scent, and flavour despite being frozen for almost a week. I also avoided making the icing OR separating eggs as I’m frequently too lazy to do either. Here’s my final recipe 🙂

Citrus Butter Cookies

[Part 1: Cream together all ingredients until smooth with no lumps]
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated white sugar
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract

[Part 2: Combine dry ingredients separately, then add to Part 1 until just combined]
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt

[Part 3: Add these ingredients last, and mix until just combined with 1+2]
3-4 tablespoons of citrus zest (I used 2 limes, 2 meyer lemons, and 2 cara cara oranges)
3 tablespoons of citrus juice (I used 1 tablespoon of each – lime, meyer lemon, and orange juice)

Chill dough for at least 1 hour in the freezer, or overnight in the fridge for optimal rolling texture. Once chilled, roll out into 1-1.5″ size balls, then roll in a mixture of granulated sugar+lemon zest for a nice crackly shell.

Bake for 12-14 min @ 350F – better to remove these while they are still soft and not-quite-golden at the edges. Let rest on pan for 2-3 minutes and then cool completely.

When stored in an airtight ziploc baggie these stay soft (and the flavour gets better) for up to 4 days, if they last that long 😉

Hope everyone has a good week! I still have 3 more cookie recipes to post (and I’m trying more this week now that I’m off) so just have to brainstorm 3 makeup posts to go with them.

Leave a Reply

