Cookies & Cosmetics: Greek Yogurt Chocolate Chip Cookies & #RNLife Makeup

Every year I tell myself that I am going to blog more – and I usually start out OK, and then eventually it peters out and I go back to being my lazy self… but I really do miss blogging! At the very least, I miss giving my interests the attention they deserve from me, and after brainstorming ways to keep up my beauty blogging I realised that maybe it was time to let myself expand a little… after all this blog is mine and I can choose what it’s about, right? So I’ve decided it’s time to combine two of my great loves…

Food, and the making and consumption thereof.

And cosmetics, of course ๐Ÿ˜‰

I thought about changing the name, but I identify the most with sakura, lovely so instead a hopefully regular series in which I review a beloved cosmetic item and a cookie recipe which I have personally tried and tested (and sometimes modified).

Cookies first, because, priorities.

Greek Yogurt Chocolate Chip Cookies

Can I just give kudos to all the food bloggers who take step-by-step pictures of their recipes? You are my HEROES. If I remember to take a picture at the end I pat myself on the back, and my cooking style is not glamourous at all and my phone would probably be caked with flour and sugar if I tried to document a step-by-step process.

Anyway, the pitfalls of now living alone is that sometimes I buy more of one item than I am able to finish by the expiry date – and this time it was Liberte’s Caramel Greek Yogurt which I can normally finish super fast – but because it only comes in a large tub vs. single serve containers I hadn’t brought it to work! Pinterest to the rescue! I found the original recipe hereย and tinkered around with it as I was using flavoured yogurt and also baking multiple types of cookies so I wanted to bake everything at the same temperature. Here’s my final recipe:

Greek Yogurt Chocolate Chip Cookies

[Part 1: Combine all of the following until well combined and there are no lumps in the sugar]
2 Eggs
2 teaspoons Vanilla extract
1/2 cup Granulated (white) Sugar
1 cup lightly packed Brown Sugar

[Part 2: Mix in the greek yogurt until well combined and there are no visible white streaks of yogurt in the batter]
3/4 cup Greek Yogurt (I used Liberte 9% Caramel Greek Yogurt)

[Part 3: Mix the dry ingredients separately so they are well combined, and then add to Part 1&2 until just combined]
2 1/2 cups All Purpose Flour
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 teaspoon Salt

[Part 4: Add in the chocolate chips or whatever your desired filling is – add as much as you want – but make sure that the total volume is still less than the overall batter!]
2 cups chocolate chips

[Part 5: CHILL THE DOUGH. I recommend overnight in the fridge, or for at least 2 hours]

This dough is VERY VERY sticky. I used two spoons to make my scoops of dough after it kept sticking to my hands as I rolled them into balls. Each cookie was about a tablespoon and a half of dough.

Bake in an oven pre-heated to 350F for 15 minutes.

These cookies do not brown very much! I like my cookies soft so I took them out at 15 minutes and let them rest on the pan for another 2 minutes. I also recommend using parchment paper or lightly greased tin foil to line your sheets with as the lack of butter in these means they don’t just lift off the pan. These were very fluffy, cake-like cookies but still had nice crisp edges and bottoms. This recipe made 30 large cookies.

—-

Now that you are hopefully thinking of delicious chocolate chip cookies, I’m going to babble on about makeup.

I bought CHANEL Bronze Rose Soleil Tan de Chanel several years ago (I think in 2011) as one of my very first bronzers. This was my ‘a-ha’ bronzer product – it reads as more of a golden pink blush on my skintone, and it definitely makes me look 100% more awake than I am actually feeling. When I rediscovered it, and realised that I’d already used enough to see a tiny sliver of pan on the sides, it immediately got added to my Project29 list, and also to my daily makeup bag!

The #RNlife means that I will ALWAYS prioritize sleep over pretty much everything except eating when it comes to getting ready for work – I get up at 0530h and I’m not home until 2000h (at the earliest) so the more sleep I can get, the better! For a long time this meant sacrificing my makeup routine, but my newest desire to make a dent in my collection had me re-evaluating my makeup use… because it’s a shame not to give the awesome products in my GIGANTIC stash some love. The products in the shot above are my ‘5 minute’ work FOTD – i.e. the makeup I can apply in the car, once I’m already at work and parked safely. My Project29 goal is to finish or make a visible dent in 29 beauty products by the end of the year to celebrate my age, and love for makeup. As you can see, there are 7 other products I’ll gradually talk about – I chose the bronzer first because it’s my favourite item in the shot ๐Ÿ™‚

I am going to spend my Sunday curating my stash for the remaining 21 items… I’m going to try to be minimal about the skincare items I include but I honestly tend to ‘stock up’ on those too, so they’ll be added to the list. I’ll keep a running list on the blog side-bar with a link to the product reviews.

Please poke me on Twitter @sakura__lovely or Instagram @asiyakei if you see me slacking on these Cookies & Cosmetics posts!

And let me know if you bake these cookies – I’d love to see how they turn out!

 

Leave a Reply

