MAKE UP FOR EVER Ultra HD Foundation: All-Season Saviour

When Make Up For Ever (MUFE) first launched their HD foundation, I was ecstatic – except that something in the original formula tended to make me itchy so I had to pass my foundation onto my mother, who loved it and used it until she suddenly got much darker than the shade I was! I was very excited for the re-launch of the foundation as I’d had great experience with the MUFE HD Powder foundation (it was a flawless match) but I had always preferred liquids due to my skin’s tendency to be dry like the Sahara desert no matter what climate I’m in.

The new formulation of MUFE HD Foundation has an expanded shade range, and I was fortunate enough to be sent three shades to test based on my previous match – during the summer I wore Y375 which is a medium beige with slightly yellow undertones, and now that winter has come I’ve been wearing R370 which has more neutral undertones!

I would definitely suggest going in store and getting a few options to try out for a good match. The HD foundation was true-to-colour on me, and didn’t appear to oxidize once applied. I use one pump of foundation for my whole face, dabbing it onto the area of application and then blending with a brush or beauty blender.

I get really good wear-time on this foundation, nearly 8-10 hours without touch-ups, but my skin is very very dry – I rarely get oily so I can’t speak to the foundation’s oil control. I do use a setting powder, usually Guerlain Meteorites or Hourglass Ambient Lighting powder. As with all base makeup, I find it essential to moisturize well before I apply – while this foundation isn’t drying at all, it doesn’t add a lot of hydration to the skin!

FOTDs from the last six months of this foundation-love:

 

29 and feeling fine 🙂 #pink #birthday #makeup #makeupjunkie #bbloggersca #sakuralovely

A post shared by Justine (@asiyakei) on

I think I’ve found my day-to-day foundation, and MUFE HD Foundation is definitely going to be one of my 29-things, this year. But more on that soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

