Le Metier de Beaute Melange Palette

lmdb-melangecover

 

I confess, I have an unhealthy appreciation obsession with eyeshadow palettes. Whenever I get “into” a new cosmetics line, eyeshadows are the first products (and sometimes only) I test as eyeshadow is my favourite KIND of makeup product – and having large palettes  is like collecting rainbows to me (seriously). So when Le Metier de Beaute posted a preview of the Melange palette for spring, I knew it was a ‘must have’ for me!

lmdb-melange-swatches

 

Filled with 18 shades in LMdB’s fantastic eyeshadow formula, for 95$ this palette was a steal and was released initially at Neiman Marcus just in time for their beauty event! It’s now available at Saks Fifth Avenue but like most of the line (including my other favourite item, the kaleidoscopes) is limited edition and in limited quantities!

 

I found the ‘neutral’ half of the palette swatched much better than the colourful/bright half, but if you’re looking for a good travel palette this is a good bet. You  may have to reinforce the pans though! One of my main ‘gripes’ about the line is that eyeshadow pans often come loose from their casing – and at their luxury price point, that shouldn’t be something I have to consider! The lovely Cat made sure all my pans were secure before she mailed this to me, but I’d love to see a stronger glue – or magnets – used to cut down on being afraid the pans will fall out of place and shatter!

lmdb-open palette

 

I do *LOVE* how gigantic the mirror is, but I would have left the sponge applicators out (I’ve since tossed mine) as they make the palette look a lot cheaper than it deserves – plus with 18 colours, 2 tiny applicators just won’t cut it (my belief is that if you ARE going to include applicators it should at least be enough to use more than half of the palette at a time).

I’ve done a few looks with this palette since I received it, but I wanted to get the swatches out there first! For reference, I swatched these on bare skin with no primer, using my fingers. I’m about an NC35-37 right now 🙂

Did you pick this up as well? Are you still debating? FOTD will come on Monday 🙂

2 thoughts on “Le Metier de Beaute Melange Palette

Leave a Reply

