Hello Kitty x Liberty of London 2012 Collection

hkliberty-cover

Every year one of my unofficial resolutions is to blog more so I thought I’d at least try to make some headway into my ‘stash’ of photos (if not my actual physical stash of makeup) while I laze around this week. I’m actually in the process of my semi-annual makeup reorganization AND playing with all my holiday 2012 purchases so it’s… not greatly productive.

In any case! This year, similar to last year, Hello Kitty and Liberty of London (and Boots) in the UK teamed up for a holiday release. I believe the eyeshadow colours are mostly the same but the featured print this year was pink so obviously I bought everything this year whereas last year I passed on almost all of the coloured cosmetics. Haha.

I adore the print this year though <;3.


hkliberty-01
The brush set is identical to last year, 5 synthetic brushes in a bow pouch. Except this year the handles are pink to match the print, which is a nice touch. These are decent quality – I travelled with the set from last year to Chicago and the brushes are decently soft and wash well with my usual DAISO soap 🙂
hkliberty-02
This is my favourite of all the makeup items released for this collaboration – the palette is cardboard but shuts with a magnet so no chance of it popping open accidentally in your pouch! I think this is a good mix of neutral smokey colours and the eyeshadows were decently pigmented – swatches, as always, are on bare skin with no primer, applied with fingers. I like the satin finish of these!
hkliberty-05

 

I was very surprised to find makeup items in the little pencil sized pouch (but in a good way!). The potted lipgloss is the same as one of the glosses available in the trio set in case you decide to purchase both. The lip gloss is a sheer shimmery pink (you’ll see it in the FOTD, but I didn’t bother swatching it as both lip swatches were colourless on my arm).

The finish of these shadows is similar to the above palette, but I prefer that one as the pans are bigger and easier for me to get a brush into!

hkliberty-fotd

 

I decided to go against norm and do a smokey eye rather than reverting to my lazy neutral look (also because the gloss was colourless so I thought it would suit a ‘stronger’ eye look).

Face of the Day

Base: Shu Uemura UV BB Beige Mousse Base, Face Architect Powder Foundation
Blush: Armani Blushing Fabric #5
Eyes: UDPP, L’Oreal Color Infallible 888 Iced Latte, Hello Kitty x Liberty of London eyeshadow palette, K-palette eyeliner, YSL Faux Cils
Lips: Hello Kitty x Liberty of London pink gloss

Did you pick anything up from this collection? I definitely bought it for the packaging!

4 thoughts on “Hello Kitty x Liberty of London 2012 Collection

  1. This collection is so pretty! I didn’t get anything from it unfortunately. I really like that first palette too and the color swatches look really good, doesn’t look chalky at all. Your FOTD is lovely as always! Happy New Year!

    • I kept forgetting I had swatched it AND done a look until I was going through Flickr… too many holiday collections to splurge on! I’m pretty sure it’s exactly the same as last year’s collection so if the collaboration continues… it’ll be the same nexdt year too! 😛

Leave a Reply

