NARS Kauai Eyeshadow Duo

20140430-020617.jpg

First off,

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BLOG!

According to my dashboard today is the fourth (!) birthday of sakura, lovely on WordPress – I can’t believe it’s been that long – and as I happened to be typing up a post anyway, I thought it’d be nice to acknowledge that my obsession with makeup and babbling incessantly about it is alive and well (in case anyone was worried).

Of course I celebrated with a colourful FOTD, and my first eyeshadow purchase in a few months (seriously) – the beautiful NARS Kauai :D

Untitled

 

I had grand aspirations this year that I was going to skip the spring VIB discount sale because I was too busy moving and then reorganizing my stash was like shopping only it didn’t require me to spend money… and then I found amongst my many many pouches some unused Sephora gift cards, and all bets were off. I was initially trying to resist NARS Kauai but after swatching the gold, I knew I had to own it – that I got 15% off AND didn’t technically pay for it was a huge bonus :D

Untitled

 

One-swipe swatches :D I believe NARS (like all brands) is re-working their eyeshadow formula – NARS Kauai was much softer, and smoother than previous NARS Duos I have loved, and the pigmentation – especially on the gold shade – is excellent. The purple has a duo-chrome finish but isn’t as pigmented, and may read a bit grey on some skintones (as you can see, it’s pretty purple on me).

Untitled

 

I was having a play-with-product day so expect (or nag me) to review the Hourglass Ambient Blush and Armani CC cream soon – but I’m having fun adding colour back into my eye wardrobe, at least! It’s still threatening to snow in Calgary (today is 23C but the forecast is for snow tomorrow) so I’m going to enjoy the bright colours on my eyes, if not in my clothing.

Untitled

 

I’m also making more of an effort to take product shots as Liz kindly pointed out that someday someone might want to know when and what I used in a FOTD :P

Here’s to another great year of blogging (or more)!

2 thoughts on “NARS Kauai Eyeshadow Duo

  1. Love the way you did your first picture! Okay, this eyeshadow looks very pretty! I just may have to go and check it out. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

