Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Natural Lipsticks

MUFE Rouge Artist Natural Lipsticks

Let me tell you fellow beauty lovers, it can be an odd and confusing thing living in Canada when it comes to beauty releases. You get all the same information as the rest of the world… and then everything takes about 6 weeks longer (or more) to get here! This can be good and bad – by the time the products are out I’ve already read 10 million reviews, but then it isn’t nearly as exciting as getting to try things out in person – or more frustratingly, some things just never get released. Or the Canadian websites don’t get updated. So you can imagine my happiness to find a growing number of brands with Canadian twitter accounts – finally an interactive, updated source of info! Make Up For Ever Canada (@MAKEUPFOREVERCA) recently joined the twitter and Facebook ranks and I was excited to contact them (mostly to whine about how/why they’d pulled out of all other non-Sephora stores) but also to see what it would be like to talk to someone who had info about the exact market I was interested in – MINE!

MUFE Rouge Artist Natural N32

MUFE Rouge Artist Natural N35

Let me tell you, these girls are awesome. Their twitter account is so active and they are great about answering questions within a few days. I was also excited to see that they make an effort to tweet and RT across Canada’s many timezones! I was lucky enough to be sent two of the new (to Canada!) Rouge Artist Natural lipsticks which have recently popped up in Canadian Sephoras everywhere. If you remember last year, MUFE did a HUGE launch of the Rouge Artist lipsticks which were totally opaque, pigmented lipsticks designed, it seemed, to last across every skintone no matter what your preference was. I really enjoyed these lipsticks but I also found them incredibly bold for daily wear – as I chiefly wear pinks (and swear off of nudes and browns) – sometimes a completely opaque lip is a lot bolder than you intend!

What I liked:

- The range seems to have a more jelly-like, translucent finish
– Still long lasting – I wore N35 which is a bright medium pink and it lasted through a frappucino and half of a bowl of ramen :D and didn’t leave behind any weird outlines
– These lipsticks are definitely more work friendly – I usually get varying comments of ‘wow, that’s bright’ or ‘you look so done-up’ when I wear completely opaque lipsticks but the jelly-finish almost makes these more casual and summery – less formal
– While I wouldn’t say they actively moisturize, I didn’t feel the need to apply a balm under the lipstick before I applied, nor did I feel like I should ‘top up’ with one once I was wearing the lipstick – my lips felt normal – I could hardly tell I was wearing them!

What I Didn’t Like:

- These are a definite ‘try-in-person’ – this isn’t a bad thing, but if you don’t live near a Sephora this might be a negative! They are not as pigmented as the swatches on Sephora make them seem, so colours that might seem too bold will appear quite different once they are on your lips!
– I did go try on the ‘nude’ colours but I still couldn’t find one I loved :( Sticking to pinks!

Face of the Day:

MUFE FOTD

MUFE FOTD

Base: Diorskin Nude Natural Glow Creme/Gel Makeup in 040 Honey Beige
Cheeks: Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Amused
Eyes: UDPP, L’Oreal Colour Infallibles in Iced Late, Pepsy Coral, and Cosmic Black, K-Palette Eyeliner, UD 24/7 Zero, YSL Faux Cils
Lips: Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Natural in N31

Have you tried these? I really like them! Thank you to the team at @MakeupforeverCa for the opportunity to test these out!

4 thoughts on “Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Natural Lipsticks

  1. The lipstick looks great on you! I think that I may have to check these out myself as I like the finish of it. Thank you for the review!

Leave a Reply

