L’Oreal Color Infallible Eyeshadows: The Matte Edition

064

I know, I know, you are probably thinking I am just trying to milk this for all the traffic I can, and I *AM*, but don’t you notice something a LITTLE bit different about the above picture?

There are four new shadows! More specifically, there are four new MATTE eyeshadows, which were the ones I was missing and hinted at in this post: http://sakuralovely.wordpress.com/2011/12/06/loreal-color-infallible-eyeshadows-lor-lor-lor-collection/

Let’s take a closer look!

050

Left to Right: 019 Smoothie Kiwi, 028 Enigmatic Purple, 029 Smoky Green, 030 Ultimate Black

A kind reader suggested that I try applying the matte Infallibles with a synthetic brush (I usually use the MAC 239) and RAVED about them so I figured I might as well re-swatch all the matte L’Oreal Color Infallible Eyeshadows together if I was going to have to do half of them.

045

Left to Right: 016 Coconut Shake, 017 Sweet Strawberry, 018 Blue Curacao, 019 Smoothie Kiwi, 20 Pebble Grey

047

Left to Right: 20 Pebble Grey, 28 Enigmatic Purple, 29 Smoky Green, 30 Ultimate Black

044

Left to Right: Swatched wet. 28 Enigmatic Purple, 29 Smoky Green, 30 Ultimate Black049

I need a bigger box :P

As for how they applied with the synthetic brushes, here are my thoughts:
– They did apply smoother and blend out, but this resulted in more sheer swatches, so the swatches in this post are often two+ layers, all applied with flat-domed synthetic eyeshadow brushes (I used the two from the Tokidoki 24K set)
– I haven’t figured out how you’d apply these wet. I tried with a damp brush on the black matte Infallibles but other than Enigmatic purple I couldn’t tell much of a difference and the wet application made the swatch patchier!
– I still like the metallic shades better
– If you wanted the black black matte Armani ETK, 030 Ultimate Black is a decent dupe, or you could buy Bulletproof from Sugarpill, which isn’t the same texture but is definitely matte and black.

I’m working on a big round-up post of all 25 (!) eyeshadows + the American list and what I think are dupes (thank you to everyone for sending/linking reviews to me) so look forward to that!

Hope this post helps!

11 thoughts on “L’Oreal Color Infallible Eyeshadows: The Matte Edition

  1. please please please tell me how you are getting your hands on the other colours?!?! I am from Australia and unfortunately we only have about 9 colours in the range that was released here and now 4 of the new L’Or, L’Or, L’Or collection. I, just like you, have this need to complete sets of things! Particularly if I like them as much as I do these eyeshadows!! I would love to be able to complete my little set!!

    • Uh, I’m not sure what you mean – I have friends that were kind enough to purchase some of these for me, but otherwise I purchased them myself (in Canada). Good luck in your search!

    • Let me know how applying them wet goes!! I’m happy with how metallic they are already but it says wet or dry on some of them… wet did not work too well on the matte ones!

  2. Pingback: L’Oreal Color Infallible Royal Matte Smoky Collection? | sakura, lovely.

Leave a Reply

