Chanel Illusion D’Ombre Eyeshadows in Mirifique and Epatant

Mirifique & Epatant FOTD

I have really been missing makeup the last few weeks as I let my skin heal from the inadvertent chemical peel I gave it in Portland! Thankfully while I’m still a bit red and dry, the flakiness has largely passed and I almost feel normal again when I can apply a bit of foundation!

Broke my makeup ‘ban’ by playing with two of my most recent purchases for an entirely Chanel FOTD.

Chanel came out with new cream shadows for Fall 2011 (I’m sure everyone has seen the rave reviews bouncing around the blog communities) and while I was initially skeptical, I have somehow ended up with three :P.

This look uses two of them :)

Mirifique

Mirifique is my dream metallic black (though it looks quite sparkly in the pot). I used this as eyeliner and in my outer corner and crease to add definition. I don’t know that I’ll ever be able to replicate the look that I had done during my Holt Renfrew makeover but I’m interested in seeing how Mirifique plays with my beloved Armani Eyes to Kill Silk eyeshadows!Epatant

Epatant is a green/silver khaki shade, and in my opinion, the most unique shade released with the Illusion D’Ombre. I also applied this with the included brush all over the lid and slightly above my crease so you could see the eyeshadow with my eyes open! I didn’t notice it at the time but Epatant did have a bit of creasing – I might try to set it with translucent powder the next time I use it! This colour is beautiful and EXTREMELY glittery – in fact, the first two times I swatched I passed because of how glittery it seemed! The testers were dried out though – the base is more metallic when the shadow stays emollient :)
Mirifique & Epatant EOTD

Face of the Day Breakdown

Face: Chanel Teinte Innocence B30
Cheeks: Chanel Tissages in Tweed Fuschia
Eyes: NARS Smudgeproof Eyeshadow Base, Chanel Illusion D’Ombre Mirifique, Chanel Illusion D’Ombre Epatant, L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow Time Resist White, Armani Eyes to Kill Mascara, Anastasia Espresso Brow
Lips: Chanel Rouge Allure in Joyeuse

Hope you enjoyed! Have you picked any of the new Chanel eyeshadows up? Are you planning to?

12 thoughts on “Chanel Illusion D’Ombre Eyeshadows in Mirifique and Epatant

    • These work really well for me but I would not try them without a primer!! And I think they’d crease less with powder on top, but that would also ‘dull’ the sparkly finish. So I’m still trying to make these work!

  1. Your makeup is so beautiful! I loved it! Maybe trying for Christmas! I actually wanted one to New Year’s Eve, and i thought about buying Emerveillé, but I liked Epatant a lot too! What do you think I should do? Wich one should I get (maybe other colors of Illusion D’ombre)?

    • I love Epatant – it’s a beautiful silvery-green but it depends on what kind of look you’d like! I think Emerveille would be useful as an every day colour too, not just for special events. Hope you enjoy whichever colour you pick up!

Leave a Reply

